Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

lionni cover mmI always wanted to own a piece of graphic design done by Leo Lionni for my collection, other than the catalog of the seminal 1955 Family of Man cover (shown above) done by Lionni for the photo exhibition of the same name held at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. The 30th anniversary of this edition catalog was not reproduced in the same manner (shown below). As you can see, the photo inserted was not in the original 1955 cover.

family of menAs I was going around, this past Saturday, to some of my stomping grounds, I found, by chance, what I was searching for but not in the form I expected. Unwrapping this treasure at home, here is what I found!

lionni5A superb classical record with the violinist Heifetz and equally great cellist Piatigorsky playing the “Brahms Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor Opus 102” produced in 1961. It is a RCA record (LD2513).

lionni3lionni4

lionni2lionniInside of the sleeve was this fantastic square booklet designed by Leo Lionni. The (12 page) booklet cover had an interesting cover design and inside a part music score was reproduced on a similar type of paper but in a different color. This record album found a very good home. Mine.

