Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I just acquired the hardcover Aperture” photography magazine number 78 (1977).  I enjoyed the various articles with the superb photography.

In this important issue, the article on Bernd and Hilla Becher, the German husband and wife photographers’ team caught my eye.Above is a photograph by the Bechers, and is from the “Aperture” magazine and represents a coal mine in Germany. I previously wrote a post on the Photography in Contemporary German Art: 1960 to the Present exhibition not to long ago. Reading the information in “Aperture”, I did not know the Bechers were in or had a major show in 1976 or 1977 at the Museum of Modern Art in New York.

So I checked the previous post and the book/exhibition catalog from the Walker Art Center 1992 exhibition. No mention of this important fact was in the biography nor the short bibliography and this photo essay in “Aperture” was not mentioned either. Of course, it is the curator’s choice to include the information he or she likes, it is easy to be critical in hindsight, but should the trusted experts not know this? Who did the checking? The students?

