Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

img320When browsing through books, your mind scans titles, images like the book cover, and then we might read the back page or recognize a name peaking our interest. That is what happened here.

I was intrigued by the title and by the cover, and when I read the back page of this 1992 book, Prisoner’s Dilemma by William Poundstone, I decided to open a few pages and read. The Prisoner’s Dilemma theory is well explained here. You might also wonder how much of this semi military and corporate game technique is used in current politics, i.e. with respect to the Ukraine.

img321Hooked I was! I recognized the name of John Von Neumann (1903-1957) one of the Twentieth Century great mathematicians and yet not or perhaps never a household word. I did not recognize the painting nor the artist’s name Alfred Jensen (1903-1981), but  I was drawn into the numbers game and part of the extraordinary bio of the artist you can read here.

jensenThe complete image above is from the artist website. The author William Poundstone deserves kudos for what appears a well researched book, and I would look forward to reading any of his other books found on the author’s site. A good look around on YouTube will provide you with numerous options to have the game theory explained visually.

