Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Vallley of Irdin book measures 7 x 5 inches, [1] 32 numbered pages, wraps, printed on Antiqua paper with type set in Perpetua. Typographical design by Theo Helwig and printed in Amsterdam, The Netherlands in 1957. To my knowledge his work was not translated into the English language until this publication by De Beuk publishers and the work of F. J. De Kanter translator.

J. H. Leopold (1865-1925) a teacher of classical languages, took much of his inspiration from Persian and Arab sources and translated parts of the Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam into the Dutch language.

The title of this slender volume may allude to Sufi sources, and the imaginary place of Irdin where a non spoken language would be used. His mystical poetry is associated with the French poet Mallarmé’s 19th Century Symbolism.

silver poemThe poetry reminds me also somewhat of the English poet A. E. Housman (1859-1936) but to continue with Leopold:

poem2“Bed of my unrest, cradle of my desire, oh cool the pillow of my solitude, all agony behind my cheeks afire turns to the embrace of thy quietude.”

